mama badu

May 29, 2010

now yall know i live for badu.

have since the beginning, always will.

however, this is the first time i find myself not agreeing with my mama.

it appears in the recent issue of vibe magazine that my mama is saying that monogamy is not normal for anyone.

here is a bit of the interview:

Erykah On raising three kids as a single mother
No one chooses to raise children alone. When you’re in a relationship you want it to work. My parents did, I did. But we are not taught how to make it work. We don’t know how to perform in relationships. I did math,science, English but we weren’t taught about human interaction, about relations with the opposite sex.”

On Whether Cheating Was the Reason For Past Break Ups
“No. Infidelity is not a deal-breaker for me. We’re all born sexual beings. I myself am not someone with a very high libido. I don’t require sex for happiness – I need companionship. I need a partner I can depend on, that I can love and grow with. But I do understand the nature of these men I’ve been with, and men in general. They have a need to chase.”

On whether she tolerates cheating:
In my own kind of way. I’m having to recondition my brain, ’cos the first thing I got was a doll named Barbie and she had Ken and that’s how it was supposed to be. You’re conditioned to think that way, and when it doesn’t happen you feel you’re a failure. What we have in common, me and the brothers I’ve known, is that we are all trying to evolve.

“We talk a lot about things that men want. Because I want them to be happy and the more I see how the male of the species behaves, the more I understand, and the less I blame him. It’s just who he is. Is there a solution?” “Honesty is it. It will get you everywhere. Mind you, I have friends who are in polygamous relationships – they’re no more happy or sad than we are. But at least the b*tches know what’s comin’ next!”

vibe magazine

here is my opinion.

i believe that there are many things in life that are not for everybody.

for instance.

crack.

crack is not for everyone.

yet there are some people who love crack, will kill for crack.

school.

school is not for everyone.

everyone cant go to school and comprehend and learn and grow.

some people work better in different environments.

hygiene.

proper hygiene is not for everyone.

some people want to be bums and dirty all day.

others are overly obsessed with cleanliness.

shall i go on?

or do you catch my drift.

we all have different preferences in life.

and being with one person is not for everyone.

some people dont want to be with one person and thats okay.

some people dont want to be parents and thats okay.

we are all free, well spose to be,  and can choose our own paths in life.

that’s why life is supposed to be enjoyed.

cause we are here and free to create the life we want to experience.

some people would work well in a mutli-partner relationship cause they want to always look at different people stuff.

its just preference.

what’s important in life is honesty.

people should be honest with THEMSELVES.

know thyself.

be who you are.

you wanna tap around,

tap around, but expect the ups and downs of that life.

you want to settle down,

settle down, but expect the ups and downs of that life.

there is no one way to do this people.

have we learned nothing from sex and the city?

Leave a Reply

